Aura Launch Rescheduled For July 13

The launch of NASA’s Aura spacecraft atop a Boeing Delta II rocket is rescheduled for Tuesday, July 13. Launch is set for the opening of a three-minute window at 6:01:59 a.m. EDT (3:01:59 a.m. PDT).

Yesterday, during routine pre-launch checks, engineers discovered an improper assembly of the fairing ordnance detonator connector within the Delta II booster fairing. This detonator acts to separate the fairing during flight. Mission managers decided an additional 48 hours was needed to correct the matter.

On launch day, July 13, programming on NASA Television will begin at 4 a.m. EDT (1 a.m. PDT) for the start of cryogenic fueling of the Delta II. The launch commentary will begin at 4:30 a.m. EDT (1:30 a.m. PDT).

Media wishing to participate in a photo opportunity for Mobile Service Tower rollback at Space Launch Complex 2 should meet at the main gate of Vandenberg Air Force Base on California State Road 1 at 5 p.m. Monday, July 12. Media covering the launch should meet at the main gate at 2 a.m. Tuesday, July 13, for escort to the Delta press site on north Vandenberg Air Force Base.

Media needing accreditation for the launch should call Air Force Lt. Michelle Mayo at 805/606-3595 in the 30th Space Wing Public Affairs Office.

An Aura recorded launch status for the news media is available by dialing 805-734-2693.

Media Contact

Rob Gutro NASA

More Information:

http://www.nasa.gov

All latest news from the category: Physics and Astronomy

This area deals with the fundamental laws and building blocks of nature and how they interact, the properties and the behavior of matter, and research into space and time and their structures.

innovations-report provides in-depth reports and articles on subjects such as astrophysics, laser technologies, nuclear, quantum, particle and solid-state physics, nanotechnologies, planetary research and findings (Mars, Venus) and developments related to the Hubble Telescope.

Back to home

Comments (0)

Write a comment

Newest articles

Advancing materials science with the help of biology and a dash of dish soap

High-speed X-ray free-electron lasers have unlocked the crystal structures of small molecules relevant to chemistry and materials science, proving a new method that could advance semiconductor and solar cell development….

Zeolite nanotube discovery made by researchers at Georgia Tech

Zeolites, which are crystalline porous materials, are very widely used in the production of chemicals, fuels, materials, and other products.  So far, zeolites have been made as 3D or 2D…

Impossible material made possible inside a graphene sandwich

The design of new materials allows for either improved efficiency of known applications or totally new applications that were out of reach with the previously existing materials. Indeed, tens of…

Partners & Sponsors