Forum for Science, Industry and Business

Sponsored by:     3M 
Search our Site:

 

Dawn Breaks on Tropical Storm Amanda in Eastern Pacific

26.05.2014

Shortly after dawn broke in the Eastern Pacific Ocean this morning, May 23, Tropical Depression 1E organized and strengthened into the first tropical storm of the season: Amanda

NOAA's GOES-West satellite provided a visible image of Amanda on May 23 at 1500 UTC (11 a.m. EDT/8 a.m. PDT).


NOAA's GOES-West satellite captured this visible image of renamed Tropical Storm Amanda on May 23 at 1500 UTC/11 a.m. EDT.

Image Credit: NASA/NOAA GOES Project

The GOES imagery showed strong thunderstorms in the northern and western quadrants and is indicative of a better structure in the banding of thunderstorms around the low-level center of circulation.

By that time, Amanda's maximum sustained winds had increased to 40 mph (65 kph). Tropical-storm-force winds extend outward up to 35 miles (55 km) from the center.

The NHC discussion indicated that forecasters there expect Amanda to reach hurricane strength in about three or so days.

Amanda was centered near 10.9 north latitude and 108.4 west longitude, about 620 miles (1,000 km) south-southwest of Manzanillo, Mexico.

Amanda was moving to the west-northwest at 5 mph (7 kph) and had a minimum central pressure of 1005 millibars.

Forecaster Berg at the National Hurricane Center noted that Amanda is expected to remain in weak steering flow (which means there's not a strong weather system to push or guide it), and its motion should remain less than 5 knots during the next 5 days.  

Text credit:  Rob Gutro
NASA's Goddard Space Flight Center

Rob Gutro | Eurek Alert!
Further information:
http://www.nasa.gov/content/goddard/1e-eastern-pacific-ocean/

Further reports about: Flight GOES-West Hurricane Manzanillo NASA Pacific Space circulation thunderstorms winds

More articles from Earth Sciences:

nachricht Winters in Siberian permafrost regions have warmed since millennia
26.01.2015 | Alfred-Wegener-Institut, Helmholtz-Zentrum für Polar- und Meeresforschung

nachricht Stardust on Ocean Floor Shows Gold and Uranium Alchemy in Stars is Much Less Frequent Than Expected
26.01.2015 | The Hebrew University of Jerusalem

All articles from Earth Sciences >>>

The most recent press releases about innovation >>>

Anzeige

Anzeige

Event News

Better prospects through equal opportunity

26.01.2015 | Event News

2000 Erziehungswissenschaftler an der Uni Kassel erwartet

19.01.2015 | Event News

How are Europe’s landscapes influenced by the changing energy sector?

19.01.2015 | Event News

 
Latest News

Solid or liquid - the particle size matters

26.01.2015 | Life Sciences

Winters in Siberian permafrost regions have warmed since millennia

26.01.2015 | Earth Sciences

Researchers Introduce Macrosystems Approach to Study Stream Ecology

26.01.2015 | Ecology, The Environment and Conservation

VideoLinks
B2B-VideoLinks
More VideoLinks >>>